January 20, 2003

It’s going to be harder to fall asleep tonight than I thought.

Found some solace a few nights ago in this passage from Escape from Reason:

“It is an important principle to remember, in the contemporary interest in communication and in language study, that the biblical presentation is that, though we do not have exhaustive truth, we have from the Bible what I [Schaeffer] term ‘true truth’. In this way we know truth about God, true truth about man and something truly about nature. Thus on the basis of the Scriptures, while we do not have exhaustive knowledge, we have true and unified knowledge.” (p.17)

Every few minutes I hear kids screaming and playing outside. My imagination run wild or no? I know that tomorrow’s prob. a school holiday, but what would kids be doing up this adult hour, and outside in the cold?

I wonder how accurate these personality tests are. I just took one on www.humanmetrics.com and it looks as though I am what Jung would categorize as an INTJ. Introverted INtuitive Thinking Judging. A slice from the INTJ description:

“INTJs know what they know, and perhaps still more importantly, they know what they don’t know. INTJs are perfectionists, with a seemingly endless capacity for improving upon anything that takes their interest. What prevents them from becoming chronically bogged down in this pursuit of perfection is the pragmatism so characteristic of the type: INTJs apply (often ruthlessly) the criterion ‘Does it work?’ to everything from their own research efforts to the prevailing social norms.”

Hmm, maybe not too far off the mark.

Looking over my schedule for the spring. Arrrgh, am I ever going to have enough time to take Latin?! Will this dream ever be realized. It’s becoming more and more of a pipedream as the years go by …

More random, disconnected thoughts/events of today. Just bought a big book of Mad Libs to be used with some of my Oakland kids in language therapy, of all things. Wow, if I could count the number of hours I devoted of my childhood to scratching in nouns and adjectives in Mad Libs … whatfun!

This always happens … if I stay up long enough I get hungry. A trip to the kitchen, methinks, is in line right about now … what is the least detrimental food I can eat at this hour?

Leave a Reply

