January 24, 2003

Time: 10:16 post meridiem
Temperature: 55 F Mostly Cloudy
Humidity: 100%
Fog: Akin to pea soup. The fog horns are sounding.
Wind: Calm 0 mph

My first IEP rocked!!! Which can only be attributed to the grace of God. It was originally slated for Weds. morning, but the mom was a no-show. She simply ‘forgot’ to come, I found out later on. We rescheduled for this morning, which I have to say, allowed time for my nervousness to evaporate. Not to say that I wasn’t all pins and needles this morning. I was, but less so. And I can’t explain it, but as I drove in bridge congestion to Oakland this morning, I felt a serenity that could have only come from my Maker. Praise God.

The meeting itself went smoothly. I thought it was going take forever to run through the Parents’ Rights; in the end, we were out of there in a half hour. The mom and I had some nice dialogue about her son and I was able to impart some advice to her about her son’s disorder (hopefully helpful).

On the way back to the City this afternoon, I called my mom to tell her about my IEP. She asked why I had called this morning at 8:40 am. I told her I hadn’t. The phone rang, and after four rings she picked it up. “Hello?” she said. No one. Dead air. She glanced at the caller ID box to see my cell phone number. She immediately called my phone and left a message saying, “You called?” She said, that at that point, she was driven to pray for me. Her exact words. That was ten minutes before the start of my IEP. Can you believe that she was praying for me at that moment in time?! She had no idea what I was going through or doing at the moment. Just an urgency to pray. The thing is that I didn’t call her this morning. During the time that she said I “called,” my phone was sitting in the deep dark recesses of my purse, on mute and keyguard activated. I really didn’t call her. Can we chalk this up to plain coincidence or divine providence? I would like to think the latter, but in the end, don’t really know. Am thankful for my mom’s prayers, however. For God’s amazing grace and for everyone’s encouragement. Couldn’t have done it without y’all. Thanks for all your well-wishes and eProppage. And funny dialogue. I’m feeling better and am ready to amble through the City once more.

4 Responses to “”

  1. danaY Says:

    hip-hip…two delicious Eprops for divine providence!

  2. keili Says:

    HIP HOP…DOS PROPS. Doesn’t it feel nice to give advice?  Good job homie M.

  3. danielplanet Says:

    Pretty sweet stuff!  Something very divine at work.  Praise God is right.
    Eprops for once again.  You really hoard these things.  Soon, you’ll be swimming through a vault of eprops a la Scrooge McDuck. 
    And Dana, once you give flowers, they aren’t to be taken back.  Remember!  hehe
    Matt11:28


  4. argonaut,ice wine is a sweet (as opposed to semi sweet) dessert wine. The uniqueness is in the grapes used to produce it. You can use muscats or reislings, but the difference is that the vineyards wait until the grapes are frozen before they pick them. The sweet ice wine is then produced straight from the frozen grapes which allow for a very sweet and unique taste. And as a result of this procedure, each half bottle runs approx $70 (for the semi decent ones.)hope it helped!B


Leave a Reply

