January 30, 2003

It happens when you speak a language all day that is not your native language–you start out sharp as a tack in the morning, conjugating verbs like nobody’s business. Midday, your processing starts to slo-o-o-o-o-w down. By the tail end of the afternoon, you can hardly formulate a syntactically-sound sentence. Your mind is officially a lump of play-dough. It’s time to decompress. This is what I experienced during my year in Barcelona, and am revisiting this phenomenon now every Weds. and Thurs. of the week. Speaking another language is a taxing thing. By the end of a whole day of it, your brain is just tired. Whew. However, the sun is setting on another Thursday, and I’m grateful for it.

A good day. Fog infiltrated the lower level of the Bay Bridge this morn, causing full traffic stoppage at a few points. Yikes! Still made it to my IEP on time; thanks, God. The second IEP of my lifetime went well. Sometimes in my anxiety, I forget that He is right there with me.

My hands reek of play-dough. Time to decompress. Anyone try stroopwafels at Trader Joe’s yet?? WOW. Good stofe.

One Response to “”

  1. keili Says:

    this jello-fying of the brain happens even when i’m speaking english!!!


Leave a Reply

