February 5, 2003

On Monday, came back from a wedding photography convention in Vegas. Vegas, for me, can be summed up in the following: Brobdingnagian hotels, ubiquitous slot machines, wafting cigarette smoke, prime rib. Different culture, def.

Highlights of the convention:

1. During dinner on Saturday night, I met all these old school photography greats (all now retired)–Doug Box, Donald Jack to mention a few. I confessed that I had no idea who they were, being new to the business. They laughed. It was privilege tho, to meet the likes of them. They were so gracious, too.

2. At the trade show, made tons of contacts. Found great album manufacturers and a stellar color lab to use in L.A. I’m excited. It’s amazing how everything is going digital.

3. Hanging at the airports–technically not part of the convention, but the airport is one of my favorite places in the whole world. Same for train stations. Such the perfect spot to read and people-watch. On my flight to LV, I met one of the guys from Santana. It turned out that we were both in the Castro the night previous–he, filming a video, and I, watching the Chomsky film.

In the rush of things, I neglected to bring any reading material for the trip. I ended up buying something that I’ve wanted to read for a long while–Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. It is an engaging and intriguing read. I actually have not been able to put it down.

I drove back from Oakland this afternoon in a daze. Am physically very tired. After school today, I went to a meeting for the speech pathologists in the district. Due to a colossal budget crisis, some of us were assigned more students. My eyes widened when I discovered that a new school would be added to my caseload as well as three more students to the caseload at my current school. This plus a speech and language assessment to write up and two IEPs to prepare for this week-end. AaaaHHHH! God, sustain me. Help me to serve these kids not just competently, but excellently. It’ll be an adventure! (tired smile)

High point of my day: during therapy today, one of my kids kept crackin’ up. I would have him look in the mirror to see how the /l/ was made (or one of his other sounds) and he would just laugh and laugh and laugh. I think he kept replaying a really funny moment from last night in his head. (I def. know how that feels!) He literally could not concentrate because he was distracted by his replay! He told me the funny story a few times, but I couldn’t understand him because he ‘backs’ a lot of his consonants–his /t/ and /d/ turn into /k/ and /g/ and even glottal stops, sometimes. Anyway, hard to share in the hilarity when you don’t know what’s going on.

Kids! I love them.

Time for some mac and cheese.

6 Responses to “”

  1. danielplanet Says:

    What a packed weekend.  Sounds like you had a great time.  I’m hoping to go to Vegas in the coming weeks… City of Sin!  <grin>  I actually haven’t been there since the 3rd grade.  Keep us posted on Chabon!  I actually read the first few pages at Barnes and Biznoble and have been meaning to pick it up.  Sounds like a witty, fun book.
    Take care.
    Daniel
    Matt11:28

  2. danaY Says:

    aw…what happened to the orange??

  3. argonaut Says:

    Time for a change. Green is so … soothing. Didja really like it?

  4. argonaut Says:

    The orange, that is.

  5. hyunsil Says:

    yes, green is soothing.  and very…. green. 


Leave a Reply

