May 21, 2003

See Ya In Two Shakes

Love how I can be on the phone with someone in the city and say, “Meet you at 18th and Bryant,” and have them know exactly where that is. No perplexing and rambling directions, no make a left, switch to the second-to-the-last lane on the right and veer to the right until you see the old Fox theatre, then make a U-turn, just plain ol’ meet me at such and such street. This city is way navegable. It’s beautifully simple to drive.

Meet me at 18th & Bryant. What is at this corner, you ask? Calumet Photographics, basically. Swung by there this afternoon to buy loads of portrait film for a graduation I’m shooting this Sunday and 3 different kinds of Kodak slide film to boot: VS (Very Saturated), G (Just Plain Saturated) and GX (Saturated for Warm Tones). I plan to experiment with the Kodak slide film; to shoot it and cross-process it this summer. Hopefully I’ll get some good street shots in the city before I leave. Will be interesting to see which colors will shift when the film is processed.

On a side note, I would like to announce that I am D-O-N-E with finals, papers, classes! I am DONE with the semester! I would like to thank God, my iBook, my family, my flatmates, my friends and my fellow Xangans for helping me to make it out alive from this semester of endless days and semi-sleepless nights. Thanks for putting up with my shenanigans! So now the only loose ends left to tie up are my jobs in Oakland and SF and then I’m coming home! Home to the relentlessly horizontal city of LA and its suburbs. For sure, I’ll miss Ess Eff and its sky. It’s a different kind of blue.

Back to my report for tomorrow’s IEP, I suppose …

7 Responses to “”

  1. ilikesteak Says:

    “Relentlessly horizontal.” nice.
    Congrats on finishing finals- doesn’t it feel SO good? Have a good time at home.

  2. skahr Says:

    To simplify telling people directions you could simply say to Make a left, switch to the penultimate lane… etc. That would work!
    I can’t wait to see what colors shift when you process the film, too!  Wow!  I will probably poop myself with excitement   Just kidding!!!

  3. danaY Says:

    woohoo! see ya in two shakes of a lambs tail.

  4. dbang Says:

    yay!  congratulations! 

  5. Anonymous Says:

    hey michelle..don’t forget to buy me some tickets..okay?  you know…miss ya! great chatting with you earlier today! hasta luego!
    solita~*

  6. naperuale Says:

    It certainly feels good to be done with the semester!!! I’m sure your mac was a very important part of all this success 🙂 Did you check your photos website lately? I made a slideshow, looks kind of cool I think. See you tomorrow!!!

  7. Clarephile Says:

    Woohoo! Congrats on finishing finals! But um… leaving SF for LA? You do know it’s 100+ degrees down here right? 😀


Leave a Reply

