July 21, 2003

I’m done! I put The Neverending Prooooooject to bed twenty minutes ago! It is on its way to the printer! Goodbye to Photoshop for at least a month. Yippeeee!

Now a new chapter in my life begins: studying for the COMPs. I have to pass a set of comprehensive exams in order to get my masters degree in speech pathology. Time to whip out all the notes I’ve taken in every speech class I’ve taken thusfar and drill the information back into my brain. Whew. I’m breaking into a sweat just thinking about it. Not an easy feat, but a necessary one.

16 Responses to “”


  1. no worries… things have a way of working out! God Rocks!

  2. quelynn Says:

    Mmmm… tests. For some weird reason, I miss taking tests. So, er, what is the Neverending Finally Ended Project?

  3. argonaut Says:

    Quelynn:The Neverending Finally Ended Project. A little background. I’m a photographer. Always have been, even though I’ve studied (and still am) other disciplines in college.My end goal is to be a photojournalist but right now it’s all about supporting myself, paying off the college loans and making a name for myself, photographically. For the past few years, I’ve been a second shooter for a wedding photographer in SoCal. I’m still shooting for her but am also venturing out on my own. The clients that I’m starting to book now all want wedding albums.So, TNP was my first sample wedding album to show clients. Basically, I took the first wedding that I shot on my own last November (a little over 400 images) and scanned in 100 of those negatives (took me about 18 hours!). From those 100, I selected 50 images and had to clean them up in Photoshop because the neg scanner I used was not the cleanest (think dust). It was a good one tho, a Nikon CoolScan 4000 I think.I started cleaning the images when summer break began, about June 20th or so. And one month later, I’m finally done! Each image took me approx. 30 minutes-1 hour. Pure tedium.I finished the images yesterday, burned them to a CD and sent them to a Japanese album company. They have an office in LA, but send their stuff to Japan to be printed. I am so stoked to be done and now can’t wait to see what they churn out for me. So that, in a nutshell, is The Neverending Project.

  4. hyunsil Says:

    :O
    wow.  glad you’re done.

  5. naperuale Says:

    Congratulations Mish!!!! I knew you could do it! =) About the comp’s, don’t worry, I’m sure you’ll do great. Anyway, a little bit of prayer is always good.

  6. quelynn Says:

    Wow. A portfolio, so that’s what it was! And a wedding one at that. Weddings are always fun to photograph. Congrats on the achievement, that was definitely a lot of hours spent. Hmm, I thought the Coolscans had Digital ICE or whatever that feature is that helps with dust and scratches… maybe not this model. Or the dust was really extreme. My Minolta doesn’t, and it also takes forever for me to scan a strip and clean it up.

  7. argonaut Says:

    The Coolscans do have the Digital ICE feature but during my two-hour scannage session, I didn’t have the time to deal with the learning curve in using it. And none of the lab assistants really knew the feature well enough to help me out. 😦 Oh well! Actually, I did try to use it once, but the image went haywire. I don’t know what happened.So cool, you have a Minolta scanner! Which one??

  8. keili Says:

    You can rock COMPS!!! I support you!

  9. quelynn Says:

    Mmmh. My Singaporean friends always raved about ICE. I guess they forgot to mention the difficulty in getting it to work right in the beginning. The Minolta scanner I got is the cheapest film scanner I could find ($200!)… The Dimage Scan Dual III. It’s not so bad… and I got to download this piece of software from Polaroid that helps with dusts and scratches after the scan has been done. The process takes loooooong, though.

  10. argonaut Says:

    Everyone: Thanks for your COMPs support! I’ll need your prayers and encouragement in a big way in the two months to come!Quelynn: Thank God for shareware, eh? Isn’t it amazing the amount of scratches negs can acquire. Even when they’re sitting in an airtight archival box.When I was scanning in the negs, I wondered if the scanner was scratching them or if they got a bit torn up at the lab. And I thought it was a good lab! Ever use Photoworks in SF while you were in the Bay area? Cool place. Their black and white is pretty right on but they’re a little more off the mark with color. I don’t really trust my color stuff to them anymore. Plus they print on Agfa paper and I’m a Fuji Crystal Archive fan.Check out their website should you feel so inclined. Some really creative work on it: http://www.photoworkssf.com

  11. quelynn Says:

    Gads, this is really funny… I am such a Fuji Crystal Archive fan myself! All my friends know my bias for Fuji printing, and whenever someone needed pictures printed in the office, I’d always bully them into printing with Fuji. The fuji frontier shop near my office has already handed me a discount card for the amount of business I drag in for them… hehe.
    When I was in the Bay Area, I didn’t really aim to go to any photo labs. I think I managed to walk into one lab, and one shop, of which I cannot remember the names anymore. One was in SF, one was somewhere along Telegraph, I think. Hey, so where are the Fuji Frontier labs in the bay area anyway?

  12. argonaut Says:

    How funny! You know, I read about Frontier Labs in some photo magazine. And then I remember seeing them at a wedding photog convention in Vegas. Are they digital? I’ve been meaning to find a good digilab but just haven’t. What so great about Frontier (besides that they use Fuji paper πŸ™‚ ?!

  13. quelynn Says:

    Well, from what I understand, the Frontier is a machine that churns out digital prints all the time, regardless of whether it’s from a cd, a cf card, or a negative. But the prints do not look “digital” or pixellated or unnaturally colored at all. I can’t really pinpoint what makes them so great, but I’ve been through several digital printers (Kodak uses Noritsu machines), and I’ve liked the results from a Frontier machine best. And of course… they use crystal archive…

  14. Clarephile Says:

    Congrats on ending the Neverending Project!! It sounds like a true labor of love (okay, maybe not so much love as tears and despair for it to be over) πŸ˜€ Believe me, I know the feeling! So anyways, good luck on the COMPs – I’m sure you’ll do great. By the way, have you read ShutterBabe by Deborah Kogan? Good stuff on the life of a woman photojournalist… very insightful and damn well-written. πŸ˜€ Cheers now!

  15. Anonymous Says:

    Ouch! That sounds like a really unpleasant task. Try to keep the end goal in sight and remember that as unpleasant as the here and now might be, it is only a means to an end. Good luck on getting to the end!


Leave a Reply

