September 18, 2003

Indian-born Ravi Zacharias, who grew up steeped in Hinduism, is one of the first Christian apologists to come out of the Third World. Headquartered in Atlanta, his expertise on comparative religions has earned him audiences from Capitol Hill to Harvard. The following is an excerpt from an interview by Julia Duin with Mr. Zacharias, who was in town recently for a lecture at the C.S. Lewis Institute. Click here to read more.

Q: How do you present the uniqueness of Christianity?
A: I am totally convinced the Christian faith is the most coherent worldview around. Everyone: pantheist, atheist, skeptic, polytheist has to answer these questions: Where did I come from? What is life’s meaning? How do I define right from wrong and what happens to me when I die? Those are the fulcrum points of our existence. I deal with cultural issues whether they be in the Middle East, Far East, the Orient or the West. You broach questions in the context of their culture and then present Christian answers.

Q: Why are people so fascinated with Eastern religions?
A: Because they give you the privilege of morality without having God. Even aspects of the entire New Age movement are a moralizing philosophy without the positing of a central deity. Buddhism also gives you that. Bahaism gives you a pluralistic view, and a lot of aspects of Hinduism give you a moral framework with no accountability other than the karmic system. There’s no linear movement or point of accountability toward God.
I was in a hearing with [former presidential speechwriter] Peggy Noonan years ago and she asked this question: Do terrorists fear anything? I said, ‘I suspect they would fear a morally strong America.’ They would know that a morally strong America would not be dislodged. You can always appeal to a point of vulnerability which would break a people up. [Terrorists] don’t fear so much the weaponry as the moral courage, and I think a morally strong America would be intimidating to them.

2 Responses to “”

  1. keili Says:

    that is really enlightening…i think deep down inside i’ve been thinking the same thing, that if America would only pick up their faith in God again, with conviction, faith would be the weapon most fearful to terrorists.

  2. supergnat Says:

    Hi Michelle!
    Yeah, Julie told me about you a few times:) Both Julie and another friend were encouraging me to move out to the “city” and transfer to your school…hmm, and as tempting as that sounds, I will stick it through w/SJSU considering we do boast the renowned Dr. Langdon, eh?  Gosh, but I envy you for living out there:)  
    Actually, I’m in my first year as a grad and I was working for the LAUSD through a private company.  It was a tough year, and I vowed I’ll never go back to the school setting, but I’m still 50-50 right about now.  What about u? When are you taking your comps? Where will you be doing your CFY’s? have you started applying?  so many questions, huh? we should get together sometime(perhaps for coffee bean?) and just chat…i’m sure you’re a lot more knowledgeable in this field than I am..I just want to take it day by day–it’s overwhelming enough:)  Take care!! 


Leave a Reply

