September 23, 2003

First Day of Fall

Am finally starting to feel better (woo hoo)! During my extended stay at home, I’ve been able to study for COMPs in between bouts of hacking, among other things. Today I discovered the appeal of The Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich. See folks, I’m allergic to peanuts but not other nuts. Strange and terrible things happen to me if I stuff a peanut (in any of its forms) down my throat. Suffice it to say, I’ve never met a peanut butter and jelly sandwich that I’ve liked.

Today, however, I made a cashew/macadamia nut butter and strawberry jam sandwich on 7-grain sprouted bread, toasted in our superior DeLonghi toaster oven. I took my first bite of the sandwich to discover that after a few moments of sharing close quarters between warm, toasty bread, the nut butter and jam had melded into a marbleized concoction of chewy saltiness and sweetness. Wow. I didn’t know nut butter and jam could taste like this.

Anywho. Just thought I’d share. Back to studying.

3 Responses to “”

  1. supergnat Says:

    Michelle, I hope you’re feeling better..especially with the Comps right around the corner.  “my grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  My HE empower you:)

  2. quelynn Says:

    Gosh darnit, that sandwich sounds really goood. My mouth watered!! Good luck on the COMPs (can’t remember if I’ve said that already…), and thank goodness you’re starting to feel better.

  3. daisylowe Says:

    your nut butter and jelly sandwich sounds heaps better than peanut butter!! i wanna try it!


Leave a Reply

