January 24, 2004

I had gelato twice today. Twice! First time: at the bustling Farmer’s Market on Market and Embarcadero; had some lovely riso (rice pudding). It wasn’t overly sweet and had hints of cinammon in it. Later in Japantown, after slurping up a bowl of udon for dinner, I savored a cup of exquisite red bean and lychee gelato. I will say this once and again: Ess Eff is about nothing if not food. Good food.

Streaming through the speakers: Ten Silver Slide Trombones, solo project by Don Peris, guitarist from The Innocence Mission. A lot of geographical references in his songs, I’ve noticed. Fitting music for a road trip, especially driving at dusk with an infinite stretch of highway ahead of you.

4 Responses to “”

  1. danaY Says:

    Gelato twice is twice as nice!

  2. danaY Says:

    I was craving gelato yesterday…Howler’s hazelnut gelato, but I passed due to the fullness of my stomach with it’s tiramisu cheesecake from cheesecake factory taking up all the space in that rarely vacuous space.

  3. danaY Says:

    I could write 10 comments about gelato…and give you ten thousand eProps for just mentioning it…but I won’t…not now.
    I was thinking about Napa Valley the other day. It may soon be time for another road trip up the West Coast to SF and Napa.

  4. argonaut Says:

    Hahaha Thanks for the eProppage dana banana, and for brightening up my kind-of-sick day. I have a little cold. Would like to hear your 10 comments about gelato one day. Some day.Yes yes yes, methinks that y’all are due for a road trip to SF. Maybe when all this winter bleakness is over and done with.


Leave a Reply

