March 27, 2004

What’s That Smell?

So, I was driving home with ylin and danaY after a night in Pasadena. We were cruising east on the 210 when Weili turns to me with a maniacal look on her face. Do you smell that? It smells like ammonia! she kept saying, over and over again. Each time, her voice got louder and louder. It’s like someone washed your engine with ammonia! I dismissed her alarm because I was exhausted out of my mind and had been slow on the uptake for the last few hours. I smelled the ammonia, too, but thought it was coming from outside the car somehow. After quite a bit of loud discussion and a lot of prodding from Weili and Dana (who was sitting in the back seat), I remembered that I had a bottle of Windex in my trunk. It had been rolling around back there on the way to Pasadena. I pulled off the freeway, stopped in a residential street in Covina and opened my trunk. The smell of ammonia hit me in the face like a pile of bricks. I laid my hand on the upholstered floor of my trunk to find it soaking wet and then sheepishly lifted the Windex bottle up to the light to find it almost empty (whereas earlier it had been three-quarters full). Screams and howls of laughter ensued as I sopped up the wet chemical mess. Weili’s voice is still ringing in my head, And you thought I was crazy!

I’m never going to hear the end of this. Weili and Dana will turn to each other periodically for the next six months and say, Remember the night when Michelle tried to poison us with ammonia??

3 Responses to “”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    you forgot to use the word maniacal.

  2. argonaut Says:

    Uh hello?! Please refer to line #2.


Leave a Reply

