April 24, 2004

Today, Melissa and I took an amble down Cortland Avenue, Saturday afternoon-style, through Bernal Heights, the neighborhood that San Francisco forgot. I say this because Bernal Heights is like a little town in and of itself, wedged between the Mission and Potrero Hill, seemingly secluded and high up, with stunning views any which way you look.

Progressive Grounds is officially the cutest cafe in the city. It is thee neighborhood coffeehouse, with honey-colored wooden floors, Bernal Heightians trailing in and out, a room with a fireplace and about a hundred pillows for when the weather is inclement and a lovely patio for a day like today. Across the street is Red Hill Books, where I found something I’ve been wanting for a while (heavily marked down, no less): I Thought My Father Was God, a collection of tales submitted to NPR’s National Story Project and edited by Paul Auster.

Melissa read this story aloud as we drove home through the narrow streets of the maze that is Bernal Heights:

The Chicken

As I was walking down Stanton Street early one Sunday morning, I saw a chicken a few yards ahead of me. I was walking faster than the chicken, so I gradually caught up. By the time we approached Eighteenth Avenue, I was close behind. The chicken turned south on Eighteenth. At the fourth house along, it turned in at the walk, hopped up the front steps, and rapped sharply on the metal storm door with its beak. After a moment, the door opened and the chicken went in.

Linda Elegant
Portland, Oregon

4 Responses to “”

  1. Serricchio Says:

    I’m new to the ring and I wanted to say hey!

  2. Clarephile Says:

    lol! well… coz you know… what else do you expect a chicken to do? not knock? 😀
    by the way, i remember you photographed a wedding a while ago and now i have to do the same in a few weeks. i was wondering if you have any advice for a first-timer… anything you say would be great. please and thank you!

  3. keili Says:

    cool story.  it’s gonna be sushi day for me!

  4. danaY Says:

    it sounds like a good day plus an entertaining story.


Leave a Reply

