July 10, 2004

Tonight, I ran a necessary errand in San Rafael and then crossed the Golden Gate Bridge back into the city to hunt for something decent to eat.

The idea of ramen struck me and I headed to the Sunset and circled the neighborhood a good 8 or 9 times before I providentially found a space to park. I sprinted over to Hotei (I was famished at this point), a dimly-lit and warmly inviting Japanese joint known for its noodles. I sat down, ordered and wrapped my hands around a warm cup of green tea, thankful for some time to ruminate. Later, a cavernous bowl of ramen came and my night continued lost in thoughts and brothy steam.

As great as it was to have a hot bowl of soup and ramen at Hotei, I have to say that Hotei’s noodles do not hold a Roman candle to the staggeringly good ramen found at Shin Sen Gumi in Fountain Valley. I fear that I will have to wait too long before I am able to partake of Shin Sen Gumi’s perfection again.

One Response to “”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Oh, seriously!!!It’s good to see another Hakata Ramen convert! I Hope to see you down here soon!


Leave a Reply

